Young Democrats of North Carolina Elect 2012-2013 Officers & Award Outstanding Leaders

The Young Democrats of North Carolina (YDNC) elected our 2012-2013 executive board at the Young Democrats and College Democrats of North Carolina Convention at the Blake Hotel in Charlotte on March 31st. Sam Spencer of Davidson will continue as President for a second year; Gabriel Seth Koch of Wilmington will serve as Vice President; Zoe Riddle-Fawcett of Winston-Salem and Manteo will serve as Secretary; and Councilman Andy Ball of Boone will serve a second two-year term as National Committeeman to the Young Democrats of America.

Board Member Montica Talmadge of Raleigh is in her second two-year term as National Committeewoman and was not up for re-election this year. Due to a Charter amendment, the new Treasurer will be appointed by the President later this month. Mark Newman of Asheville served as Convention Chair.

During the Convention's leadership luncheon, many Democrats were awarded for their service:

  • Justin Karr Conley of Franklin won the Tyre Taylor Award recognizing the Young Democrat of the Year.
  • The Wake County Young Democrats won two awards: Outstanding Club and Best Resolution for their resolution opposing the Constitutional Amendment.
  • Corey Duvall of Franklin, Tori Taylor of Charlotte, Nick Carpenter of Shelby, Toria Boldware of Charlotte, and Parker Sloan of Asheville won the Outstanding Young Democrat Award, given to the "Top 5" Young Democrats.
  • Jesse Presnell of Vilas, Gabriel Seth Koch of Wilmington, and Doug Jackson of Raleigh won the Best Project Award for YDNC's Legislative Action Day.
  • Vinod Thomas of Cornelius and Courtney Crowder of Raleigh won the James B. Hunt Service Award for years of service to the organization.
  • "Mama" Beth Ostgaard of McDowell County won the O. Max Gardner Award honoring the contributions of a Young-At-Heart Democrat.

Additionally, Representative Tricia Cotham of Mecklenburg County was honored as the 2012 Legislator of the Year and Councilman Lee Storrow of Chapel Hill was honored as the Young Elected Official of the Year. These awards are unique as they were voted on by the membership of YDNC. All other awards were chosen by the executive board after an open nomination process.

Finally, the YDNC Women's Caucus honored four award winners at the Perdue-Burgess Women in Service Award Reception, held Friday, March 30 at the home of the Burgess Family. The late Susan Burgess of Charlotte (Legacy Award), Governor Bev Perdue (Trailblazer Award), Samara Foxx of Charlotte (Lamplighter Award), and Wake County Soil & Water Conservation District Supervisor Jennifer "Jenna" Austin Wadsworth (Torchbearer Award) were honored for their service to the State of North Carolina.


Congrats to Sam

and all the other Young Dems chosen to represent. The energy you folks bring into the political process has to be measured in megawatts. :)

Thanks Steve!

There's no way I could do this for another year without the support of activists like you across the State of North Carolina who continue to support YDNC. From defeating the Amendment to really illustrating for young people the difference between our candidate for Governor & Pat McCrory we have a lot of work to do.