1000 emails. Today.

This is an action item, which I hope you will take seriously.

Below is a sample letter, which I have toned way down from my original rant. I am sending it to every member of the House of Representatives in Raleigh. I hope you'll do the same.

More importantly, I hope you'll send this posting, or your own version of it, to every blog you can find and all of your personal email lists. The goal is to deliver 1000 emails to every House member today. And if we need to do it again next week, we will.

Dear Legislator.

It is reported that you might keep the temporary sales tax in place while giving a pass to the high-income taxpayers. It is being reported that you are waffling on whether to give local governments the option of imposing a real estate transfer tax.

Please tell me this isn't true.

We the People do not want to see taxes cut on the wealthy. If anything, they should be raised. Permanently. We do not want the temporary sales tax to expire. We do not want the people's agenda to be trumped by the real estate lobby.

Stop worrying about whether you'll upset a few big donors. Stop putting special interests ahead of the people's interests.

Cutting taxes first and forever is not important to us. That's the agenda of the extremists at Americans for Prosperity and the John Locke Foundation who only want to see the rich get richer. What WE want are reliable, efficient public services that help those most in need, with an overall budget that is fair and equitable.

Please remember who you work for. And in case you're confused, the answer is We the People, not Them the Corporations.

Here is a listing of the email address of House members. One or two may be missing, but it's a good start.

Almaa@ncleg.net
Marthaa@ncleg.net
Lucya@ncleg.net
Carya@ncleg.net
Davida@ncleg.net
Marilyna@ncleg.net
Jeffba@ncleg.net
larryb@ncleg.net
Curtisb@ncleg.net
Danb@ncleg.net
Johnbl@ncleg.net
Aliceb@ncleg.net
Joeb@ncleg.net
Vanb@ncleg.net
Williambr@ncleg.net
Larrybr@ncleg.net
Brub@ncleg.net
Angelab@ncleg.net
Beckyc@ncleg.net
Waltc@ncleg.net
Debbiec@ncleg.net
Georgec@ncleg.net
Lorenec@ncleg.net
Nelsonc@ncleg.net
Lindac@ncleg.net
Triciac@ncleg.net
Jimcr@ncleg.net
Petec@ncleg.net
Billcu@ncleg.net
Billd@ncleg.net
Leod@ncleg.net
Margaretd@ncleg.net
Jerryd@ncleg.net
Nelsond@ncleg.net
Beverlye@ncleg.net
Bobe@ncleg.net
Billf@ncleg.net
Jeanf@ncleg.net
Susanf@ncleg.net
Dalef@ncleg.net
Phillipf@ncleg.net
Pryorg@ncleg.net
Mitchg@ncleg.net
Rickg@ncleg.net
Bruceg@ncleg.net
Melanieg@ncleg.net
Robertg@ncleg.net
Jimg@ncleg.net
Joeh@ncleg.net
Philliph@ncleg.net
Larryh@ncleg.net
Jimha@ncleg.net
Tyh@ncleg.net
Priceyh@ncleg.net
Deweyh@ncleg.net
Markh@ncleg.net
Hughh@ncleg.net
bryanh@ncleg.net
Georgeho@ncleg.net
Juliah@ncleg.net
Path@ncleg.net
Verlai@ncleg.net
Maggiej@ncleg.net
Lindajo@ncleg.net
Earlj@ncleg.net
Carolynju@ncleg.net
Carolynj@ncleg.net
Rick@ncleg.net
Joek@ncleg.net
Jhl@ncleg.net
Davidl@ncleg.net
Jimmyl@ncleg.net
Marvinl@ncleg.net
Paull@ncleg.net
Grierm@ncleg.net
Marymc@ncleg.net
Dannym@ncleg.net
Patm@ncleg.net
Marianm@ncleg.net
Mickeym@ncleg.net
Anniem@ncleg.net
Timm@ncleg.net
Wiln@ncleg.net
Billo@ncleg.net
Earlinep@ncleg.net
Louisp@ncleg.net
Garlandp@ncleg.net
Raymondr@ncleg.net
Karenr@ncleg.net
Deborahr@ncleg.net
Ruths@ncleg.net
Drews@ncleg.net
Mitchells@ncleg.net
Tims@ncleg.net
Pauls@ncleg.net
Edgars@ncleg.net
Fredst@ncleg.net
Bonners@ncleg.net
Rons@ncleg.net
Culliet@ncleg.net
Charlest@ncleg.net
Thomt@ncleg.net
Joet@ncleg.net
Russellt@ncleg.net
Aliceu@ncleg.net
Williamw@ncleg.net
Trudiw@ncleg.net
Tracyw@ncleg.net
Edithw@ncleg.net
Rayw@ncleg.net
Jenniferw@ncleg.net
Rogerw@ncleg.net
Lauraw@ncleg.net
Winkiew@ncleg.net
Arthurw@ncleg.net
Larryw@ncleg.net
Michaelw@ncleg.net
Tomw@ncleg.net
Douglasy@ncleg.net


Comments

Here's a version with commas

that might come in handy.

Almaa@ncleg.net,
Marthaa@ncleg.net,
Lucya@ncleg.net,
Carya@ncleg.net,
Davida@ncleg.net,
Marilyna@ncleg.net,
Jeffba@ncleg.net,
larryb@ncleg.net,
Curtisb@ncleg.net,
Danb@ncleg.net,
Johnbl@ncleg.net,
Aliceb@ncleg.net,
Joeb@ncleg.net,
Vanb@ncleg.net,
Williambr@ncleg.net,
Larrybr@ncleg.net,
Brub@ncleg.net,
Angelab@ncleg.net,
Beckyc@ncleg.net,
Waltc@ncleg.net,
Debbiec@ncleg.net,
Georgec@ncleg.net,
Lorenec@ncleg.net,
Nelsonc@ncleg.net,
Lindac@ncleg.net,
Triciac@ncleg.net,
Jimcr@ncleg.net,
Petec@ncleg.net,
Billcu@ncleg.net,
Billd@ncleg.net,
Leod@ncleg.net,
Margaretd@ncleg.net,
Jerryd@ncleg.net,
Nelsond@ncleg.net,
Beverlye@ncleg.net,
Bobe@ncleg.net,
Billf@ncleg.net,
Jeanf@ncleg.net,
Susanf@ncleg.net,
Dalef@ncleg.net,
Phillipf@ncleg.net,
Pryorg@ncleg.net,
Mitchg@ncleg.net,
Rickg@ncleg.net,
Bruceg@ncleg.net,
Melanieg@ncleg.net,
Robertg@ncleg.net,
Jimg@ncleg.net,
Joeh@ncleg.net,
Philliph@ncleg.net,
Larryh@ncleg.net,
Jimha@ncleg.net,
Tyh@ncleg.net,
Priceyh@ncleg.net,
Deweyh@ncleg.net,
Markh@ncleg.net,
Hughh@ncleg.net,
bryanh@ncleg.net,
Georgeho@ncleg.net,
Juliah@ncleg.net,
Path@ncleg.net,
Verlai@ncleg.net,
Maggiej@ncleg.net,
Lindajo@ncleg.net,
Earlj@ncleg.net,
Carolynju@ncleg.net,
Carolynj@ncleg.net,
Rick@ncleg.net,
Joek@ncleg.net,
Jhl@ncleg.net,
Davidl@ncleg.net,
Jimmyl@ncleg.net,
Marvinl@ncleg.net,
Paull@ncleg.net,
Grierm@ncleg.net,
Marymc@ncleg.net,
Dannym@ncleg.net,
Patm@ncleg.net,
Marianm@ncleg.net,
Mickeym@ncleg.net,
Anniem@ncleg.net,
Timm@ncleg.net,
Wiln@ncleg.net,
Billo@ncleg.net,
Earlinep@ncleg.net,
Louisp@ncleg.net,
Garlandp@ncleg.net,
Raymondr@ncleg.net,
Karenr@ncleg.net,
Deborahr@ncleg.net,
Ruths@ncleg.net,
Drews@ncleg.net,
Mitchells@ncleg.net,
Tims@ncleg.net,
Pauls@ncleg.net,
Edgars@ncleg.net,
Fredst@ncleg.net,
Bonners@ncleg.net,
Rons@ncleg.net,
Culliet@ncleg.net,
Charlest@ncleg.net,
Thomt@ncleg.net,
Joet@ncleg.net,
Russellt@ncleg.net,
Aliceu@ncleg.net,
Williamw@ncleg.net,
Trudiw@ncleg.net,
Tracyw@ncleg.net,
Edithw@ncleg.net,
Rayw@ncleg.net,
Jenniferw@ncleg.net,
Rogerw@ncleg.net,
Lauraw@ncleg.net,
Winkiew@ncleg.net,
Arthurw@ncleg.net,
Larryw@ncleg.net,
Michaelw@ncleg.net,
Tomw@ncleg.net,
Douglasy@ncleg.net

..........

I got a recommendation that it might be useful to break up the list into smaller chunks to avoid getting caught in the GA spam filter. If anyone has any insight about that, please pass it along.

Thanks.

Right-o! Am adding that the

Right-o! Am adding that the tax on the wealthy they're cutting would probably be enough to fund the $1-billion (spend over a 5-year period or $200,000,000 a year) being asked for by Land for Tomorrow (sorry, I'm still link- deficient). The land purchased would probably be large tracts (like the 220-acre natural wetlands, at the head of the Haw River about 1 1/2 years ago, thereby forever (and this is a relative word here because I don't know if this land is to be held in public trust in perpetuity) and would more than likely be owned by the very people that are getting the tax cut.

Dang, I'm glad you're here.

I love your poster idea for Larry Kissell . . . you're a street-fighter!

And thank goodness Betsy found you or you found her or whatever happened . . . we are all blessed by your arrival in our little corner of the universe.

Happy Friday.

Steve Hudson from the Kissell campaign

Introduced us. So many amazing things have happened through that campaign and the man isn't even elected yet. :)



***************************
Vote Democratic! The ass you save may be your own.

Do me a favor, Betsy?

E-mail Steve Hudson (I'm hitting the road now and won't have any internet access for about a week) and ask him to send you the mock-up I asked him to do for "KISSELL Hayes goodbye" with a big old lipstick kiss on it. (I haven't loaded my graphics program up on this my new computer and needed someone to help me who had access to a graphics program for an earlier project I was working on).

Feel free to modify it and use it in any way you'd like.

I already have it

It's wonderful.

Hey...we got the house. I'll email you the new address. Moving on the 14th.(If the buyers of this house come through.) Have a good trip and we'll talk when you get back.

Robin Hayes lied. Nobody died, but thousands of folks lost their jobs.



***************************
Vote Democratic! The ass you save may be your own.

Then share it at

Then share it at will.

Congrats. They need you badly in the 9th. Don't forget the 8th though, OK? I'm back in town by then if you need help moving.

My emails have been sent . . . .

And forwarded to another list of 100+.

Emailing

my modified version to my "it's for you to send me this kind of stuff, June" list serve of 700.

James, have you guys ever thought of doing a BlueNC Round-up, highlighting similar, hot topics? There are have several out here that overlap (not to mention the activity this wee) and several really good ones have dropped off the "track changes" list. (I haven't been able to find them using the Google Search). Just a thought.

We have done roundups before

Usually, though, important topics will pop up weekly - almost never die. Always feel free to resurrect something you think is important. Some things bear repeating and there's just too much to get to these days.

You are awesome.

Robin Hayes lied. Nobody died, but thousands of folks lost their jobs.



***************************
Vote Democratic! The ass you save may be your own.

*blushing*

n/t

Alright!!! w00T!!!

Sending now. I love this place and all you wonderful people!!!

"They took all the trees and put them in a tree museum Then they charged the people a dollar 'n a half just to see 'em. Don't it always seem to go that you don't know what you've got till it's gone? They paved paradise and put up a parking lot."

Both

I have a sense that negotiations to get continuing resolutions into place often set the stage for ultimate budget agreements.

Roge-O

Just wanted to clarify before I appear to be a jack-arse.

Thomas S. Brock
www.brocknet.net
http://blogs.brocknet.net/brocklog/

Thomas

What have YOU done today to make the world a better place?

Mine is sent.

I modified the text of the letter a bit, but the whole list of Legislators you posted gets one today. :) Thanks, A.

"They took all the trees and put them in a tree museum Then they charged the people a dollar 'n a half just to see 'em. Don't it always seem to go that you don't know what you've got till it's gone? They paved paradise and put up a parking lot."

From my representative, Verla Insko

The House position is to keep both taxes. If we make any compromise, we would want back both the EITC and a real estate transfer tax.

That's encouraging. Maybe the Dome got the story wrong. Wouldn't be the first time.

Did that list include Senators?

Can we get a list of Senators?

"They took all the trees and put them in a tree museum Then they charged the people a dollar 'n a half just to see 'em. Don't it always seem to go that you don't know what you've got till it's gone? They paved paradise and put up a parking lot."

I'd hate for them to feel left out.

.

"They took all the trees and put them in a tree museum Then they charged the people a dollar 'n a half just to see 'em. Don't it always seem to go that you don't know what you've got till it's gone? They paved paradise and put up a parking lot."

I don't have a list of Senators

Maybe someone can come up with something, but I've pretty much written off the Senate.

From all I can tell, only two people matter in the Senate: Tony Rand and Marc Basnight - and neither of them gives a rats patooey about what people think. To my knowledge.

Thanks, Thomas

you're the best . . .

Ask and ye shall receive

Thomas

What have YOU done today to make the world a better place?

Done.

Thanks, Thomas.

It took me awhile to write my Senate letter, because my first draft was nothing but four-letter words. Fortunately, reason prevailed and I got to something that was polite and respectful. For now.

Also Done

Thanks Thomas. We'll see what The Fred has to say. I'm gonna hold my breath over here .... ;)

(Actually, the Senator's lege aide is quite competent in his duties. I always get an acknowledgement that my email was received and will be considered. How sad is it that THIS small favor makes me happy?)

"They took all the trees and put them in a tree museum Then they charged the people a dollar 'n a half just to see 'em. Don't it always seem to go that you don't know what you've got till it's gone? They paved paradise and put up a parking lot."

You Must Be Special

Neither Fred nor the office of the Fred ever writes back to me.
That's why I write to the (other) guy. ;)

Guess that means he'll never vote for any budget

all of which are always "tax and spend"

So WTF is he doing in the legislature? I sure hope he's not taking any pay.

Valid argument, -A-

I went with the wimpish answer of "I hope that you consider the merits of the budget on their value to the average North Carolinian."

But I like your answer much better.

Thomas S. Brock
www.brocknet.net
http://blogs.brocknet.net/brocklog/

Thomas

What have YOU done today to make the world a better place?

Great point Anglico

This is a great project. I'm sending my emails now.

Another response

Thanks, you are preaching to the choir. The House is trying its hardest to tie any extension of the temporary sales tax to the tax on the wealthy. It is the Senate that is the problem. They are insisting on tax cuts for the rich. The House had also agreed in concept to the transfer tax (especially after a referendum), and it is the Senate that caved to the interests of the sprawl lobby. The Speaker deserves a lot of credit for holding the House line on this issue that is fundamental to our core values.

House done, will do Senate after this afternoon

(I skipped Leo Daughtry -- I recognized his name on the list, and just didn't see the point in sending it...)

My text: Cannibalize as you see fit:

Dear Legislator,

I'm trying to stay calm as I write this, but it's difficult. Because I am furious.

The reports out of the legislative building that I'm hearing tell me that you've decided to endorse a budget that supports the following two gobsmackers:

* Poor economic growth:
I hear you've decided to make the "temporary" sales tax increase permanent -- a tax which has been shown in research and practice to actually suppress economic activity significantly -- while terminating the "temporary" increase on the highest wage earners -- a tax that similar experience shows has little effect on economic activity at all.

* Mortgaging the future:
The most dynamic parts of North Carolina's economies are our rapidly growing urban areas. As I live in Durham, I appreciate what this growth does for us, but I also witness first-hand that it is exhausting our infrastructure. I do not expect taxpayers in areas like Cabarrus County, which recently experienced the kind of gut-punch Durham took regularly decades back in the loss of tobacco jobs, to pay for this growth. I only want you to give us the option of deciding we can pay for it ourselves. Without local funding options, of which the real estate transfer tax is only one, we will soon reach a point where our lack of infrastructure strangles our ability to grow further, and the price tag just to maintain it at current levels will be enormous. I am pleading with you -- please let local democracy work and let us decide how to pay for this ourselves, rather than telling us from your high tower in Raleigh that we're not allowed.

I don't know what to say. I know you're getting the full-court press from industries like the N.C. Homebuilders Association and the N.C. Association of Realtors, but the economic growth they're promoting is only possible with a capable infrastructure, and it's only temporary. When they've used up all of our public resources to fund their run, they'll pack up and leave, giving us nothing in return.

Please, come to your senses. Let us pay for the future, which has never been free, with sensible, low-impact revenue sources. Don't leave us with this mess.

Michael Bacon
Durham, NC

Dang. I wish you had written this earlier

I would have ripped it off hook, line and sinker. Nice job.

Just did the Senate...

I did them both in chunks of 5 addresses. Took a while, but probably nicer on the ncleg system.

So far, only one reply, from Ray Rapp of Mars Hill. He sent me a thank you, and asked what a "gobsmacker" was.

I only got one reply from

Alma, she's the only one who wasn't Blind Carbon Copied. Do you all think the others didn't get it?

I think they got it

and I know they're getting lots and lots more of them from all over the place.

We're getting through.

I sent my emails today...

Actually, Julia Boseman (juliab@) was in your list but you had her as juliah@....unless there are two julias?

SE NC Dems

Stan Bozarth